Week of July 14, 2013

Schedule

Reminder that the early morning class on Wednesdays in Fairfax at 5:45am will end on July 31, 2013. The Summer Special ends on August 3.

Congratulations to our fellow boot campers who ran in the dreaded Stowe 8 Miler today. Dreaded because it’s typically extremely hot. Those who participated were Lisa S., Kevin G., Jacki O, Kris G. and Sharon S. Sharon just recently joined us at the Jeffersonville boot camp.

As beautiful as ever, this eight mile single-loop course starts just off Mountain Road in the town of Stowe.  The course is rolling with some flat sections, all of which takes runners through the beautiful Vermont countryside and then through the heart of downtown Stowe.

Margaritas this Wednesday

This Wednesday, the gang at the Jeffersonville boot camp is headed to El Zorro’s to quench our thirst after a hot and sticky workout. We’re going to visit Jacki O. Since she can’t join us for Wednesday boot camp, we’ll visit her at El Zorro’s. I hope to enlist El Zorro’s as a local supporter of our boot camp gang.

Boot Camp Beat

Benchmarking in Jeffersonville

Jeffersonville Boot Campers benchmarked their push-ups, sit-ups and squats. Everyone was handed their own folder and they marked down their scores as a baseline. These movements will be benchmarked again in August. It’s fun to see how much the scores rise. There’s also other benchmarks that we’ll do, such as 100 meter run and specific workouts.

Checking in on our Callie
Hi Everyone!

Lisa asked me to write a small note about my surgery and recovery status.  On Monday (7/15) it will be three weeks since I had my compartment release surgery performed on all 8 compartments in my lower legs.  I am attending physical therapy two times a week and I am recovering comfortably at home.  Over the past week I’ve gained my mobility back and I’m now able to be out and about for a couple hours, can handle mild exercise and about 30 mins of walking the trails around our house.

For those of you interested here is a bit of a background on the condition:

After 5-6 years of feeling pain above my ankles during exercise, running and even walking I was finally diagnosed with compartment syndrome.  Compartment syndrome is rare condition where the fascia (tissue that houses the muscle) is too small to allow your muscles to expand during exercise or movement.  This causes elevated pressures within the compartments.  Because of the high pressures, the arteries in the compartments become constricted causing blood to pool in the muscles. In addition to elevated pressure during exercise, my condition was a bit worse, my fascia was so small that even at a pre exercise state my pressures were still very high. For reference a normal pre exercise pressure would be about 1-2 psi, my average was about 25 psi and an average post would range in the single digits while my average was 75 psi…  So to fix all that, the surgeon relieved the pressures in all 8 of my compartments by making incisions into my fascia so that it can regrow to the proper size.  The total recovery time until I am able to run full speed again and train is about 9 weeks and in a few more weeks I will hopefully be able to come back to boot camp and work out just with no running.  In the mean time my fascia is regrowing and I am babying these four lovely incisions of mine 🙂

Thank you all for your well wishes!  I’m hating not being at boot camp and can’t wait to come back.  I will hopefully being seeing you all soon!  Keep up all the hard work I’m seeing in Lisa’s Facebook pictures, miss you guys!

National Blueberry Month

Read some fun facts about these blue beauties!

July was proclaimed National Blueberry Month by the United States Department of Agriculture on May 8th, 1999. Blueberries are grown in 35 states in the US, and the United States produces over 90% of all of the blueberries in the world. They have been used in soups, stews and more, for centuries. According to Ark-LA-Tex, the Native Americans taught the pilgrims to use blueberries in many ways. Blueberries were dried in the sun and ground into a powder. The powder was used to make a pudding called Sautauthig, and it was used to season meat as a “spice rub.”

Out of 40 different fruits, juices and vegetables, the blueberry comes in with the highest antioxidant level, according to the North American Blueberry Council. Just three and a half ounces of blueberries are equivalent to over 1700 International Units of vitamin E.

Freezing Blueberries According to the North American Blueberry Council, you should not wash your blueberries before you freeze them. If you buy the berries in a pint box, simply wrap the box tightly in cellophane to make it airtight, or slip it into a resealable plastic bag (squeeze out as much air as possible). Then freeze. If you buy the berries in bulk, freeze them on a cookie sheet first and then transfer them into a freezer container. Keep frozen until ready to use.

Source: http://www.classbrain.com/artholiday/publish/article_348.shtml
 

Blueberry Recipes

Mint Blueberry Watermelon Salad
  • 2 cups watermelon cubed
  • 1 bunch mint, rough chopped
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • salt to taste
Blueberry Coconut Milk Smoothie

dairy-free, egg-free, nut-freehttps://i0.wp.com/paleoparents.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/Blueberry-Smoothie-Featured-Image.jpg

Ingredients

1 C frozen blueberries (we love Costco’s wild organic)

1 14 oz can full fat coconut milk (we like this brand)

2 bananas

14 ice cubes

More recipes can be found here: http://www.yummly.com/recipes/fresh-blueberry-salad

2 responses to “Week of July 14, 2013

  1. Jennifer Bishop

    Lisa I love the recipes you send out. In the spirit of cross promotion I would love to share boot camp info and recipes on my page and give some weekly deal or discount to folks from class that are making a highlighted treat from your blog. How about this week we start with “every 2 containers of blueberries receives $1.00 OFF”. ?? I would run the promo Wednesday thru Friday. If this sounds like it works let me know, I would need a little heads up for ordering. Blueberries this week won’t be a problem. Thanks for thinking of me!!!

Leave a comment